Business Intelligence – Oracle

Oracle BI EE 10.1.3.3/2 – Saved Selections and Collapsible Sections

Posted by Venkatakrishnan J on November 29, 2007

I thought i would blog today about a simple feature called Saved Selections as it pertains to user customizations. In a multi user environment one of the most important things that any end-user would need is the ability to customize the dashboards according to his own taste/needs. And of course, he/she would like the customization to be only for him i.e it should not affect the entire the dashboard for other users. In order to achieve this we have an option in the dashboards called “Saved Selections”.
So, if you navigate to your dashboard you find this option under Page Options.

      

Saved Selections are like customization screenshots. You can do as many customizations as possible and of course you can store them so that you can revert back to any specific customization at any point in time. There are 2 options while saving a selection. One is you can save the customization only for you i.e it will not affect the dashboard for other users. The other is you can make the customization visible for other users if you have that privilege.

      

Now what are the customizations that we can do in a dashboard. Customizations can include the prompt values including column selectors and the dashboard prompts, section collapsing etc. For example, if you want to have a default value for a dashboard prompt everytime you log into the dashboard, what you can do enter value in the dasboard prompt and click on Saved Selections and make it as default. So, basically you can have default values specific to individual users. Another very important use of this is that one can collapse reports so that they do not run everytime you login. For example, if you have a report in your dashboard that takes a lot of time to run, all you need to do is collapse that report and click on saved selections. Make that selection as default. So next time you login, that report would be collapsed and you would run the report only when you expand the report. Lets try a simple example here. Our aim is to collapse certain reports for the Administrator user and make that as default for him. But this should not affect other users.

Lets log in as Administrator and Collapse the reports that we do not need.

      

Now lets save this as a saved selection(using for me i.e Administrator user along ) and make it as default.

      

Now log out and log back in as Administrator. You would see that the reports that we had collapsed would still be collapsed.

Now lets log out and log back in as another user Administrator1. You would see that the reports would not have been collapsed for this user.

      

Very simple but can be very useful in a lot of situations.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: